Fuzzy Shorts: TEA Party’s Future, Taxing the “Rich”/ObamaCare Tax, Israel, and Sadness

There is so much going on that I thought I’d do another “shorts” post in an attempt to clean out my links folder (that’s the one I drop stuff in when it seems like it’s potentially interesting enough to post about and that usually fills to overflowing because so much is going on–always–with this administration, there’s not enough to warrant its own post, or I just lose interest in it for whatever reason).  So let’s start with . . .

Where do we go from here?

Where, indeed.  Good question, and some great answers (including some–very necessary–President Bush/Rove bashing) out there; my two faves so far:

Klavan’s The Long Game and Whittle’s A New Beginning video:

Yes, yes, it’s long, but . . . come on, it’s Bill Whittle!  When is he not worth listening to?

There are also some very awful, truly putrid ideas out there.  Let’s learn those–after all, it’s good to know one’s enemy–but reject them.

For now, I’m good with simply promising that I will not give in, I will not give up, and I will fight until my last breath the establishment Republicans/RINOs and, of course, the regressive lunatics.  How I’ll–how we’ll–do that isn’t yet clear to me in concrete terms, but generally speaking, the plan is what it’s always been:  keep slogging away during every midterm and every presidential election and every special election to seat Constitutional, fiscal conservatives in every possible office from dog catcher/mosquito control dude or dudette/etc. to United States senator . . . and president.  We always knew it wouldn’t be easy, that we’d lose some, win some . . . granted, I guess I thought we’d win more in 2012, but it wasn’t to be.  So.  Onward to 2014 and 2016 and 2018 and 2020 . . . and well beyond if that’s what it takes.

Taxing “the rich” and dismantling American health care 

. . . makes me want to vomit.  And not because I am rich (far far far from it) and not because I’m some brain-dead wingnut (though I suppose that’s arguable) programmed to blindly follow and repeat what I’m told like some kind of Occudreg human microphone drone, but because it’s . . . how else to put it?  It’s stupid.  It doesn’t just make zero fiscal sense, it makes negative fiscal sense.  After all, when all those small business owners (who make up the bulk of the people at the $250k mark–remember, it’s NOT millionaires and billionaires being targeted here.  Without actual, meaningful tax reform–a flat or fair tax, they’ll still pay next to nothing) go out of business and/or downsize, that hurts the economy.  It hurts everyone.  Sooner or later the money will run out.  It always does.  And Obama seems to want it run out sooner rather than later.

Further, and as even the most wooly-brained leftist must be noting, businesses will simply work within the parameters of, for example, the Obamacare Tax..  Hmmm, they ponder, if I have more than 50 employees, I’ll get zapped.  I have 55, but you know what? I can get by with 49.  Swimmingly, given the money I’ll save in staying super small.  Forever.  Sure, I’ll never be able to expand and achieve my true potential, but . . . well, obviously, that’s impossible now.  Shrug.  Hmmm, bigger businesses have noted, the ObamaCare Tax monstrosity says that only full-time employees are under their thumb.  I know!  All those people I have working for me, those chumps who currently have full coverage and a plan they like?  Well, how about I make them part-time!  And both of these scenarios are happening all over the country–already playing out within weeks of the American people giving the green light to Obama’s regime.  Indeed, so many people are being laid off or having their hours cut back because of–directly and pointedly–because of the Obamacare Tax that I can barely keep up (I tweet every single one I see, so hit my Twitter feed for specific examples).

But don’t think this an “unintended consequence.”  It isn’t.  It was fully and droolingly intended; why else dismantle a system that served 253.4 million Americans to “help” 45 million people (not all are Americans)?  That makes no sense.  Dismantle a system that provides so many people with quality insurance, quality care to provide substandard care for all?  All, that is, but the very wealthy who will still be able to afford medical tourism and elite private practices . . . oh, and Congress, who exempted themselves from this fantabulous new plan they deemed exceptional and marvelous for everyone.  Except themselves.  And their aids.  And their staff.  And their immediate family.  But it has to be great, right!?  Right?

Right.  Sure.  Uh huh.

Anyway,  what happens next is that Dear Leader escalates his bashing of small, medium-sized, and big business and lays the fault for Americans by the millions (literally,  by the way, not my typical hyperbole) losing the health insurance (and it’s INSURANCE, not “health care,” never forget that–it’s about power and money, not about caring for people or their health) at the feet of . . . anyone but himself and his traitorous horde.  Those businesses, he’ll rail, defiled by the greedy and inhumane and ‘unAmerican’ (according to the Dystopia of 0) idea that they should actually turn a profit, are ::: drum roll, please ::: evil.  Deeply, truly, dripping in the sweat spawned in the hottest pits of Hades, evil.  But hey, guess what!?! There’s a simple solution!  It’s so simple, so obvious, you’d think that it was the plan all along (it was): universal health care, socialized medicine, nationalized heath care . . . whatever you want to call it.  A subpar, faulty, flawed, inadequate, cruel, callous system by any other name and all that.

But yeah, tax those “rich” people.  It’ll be fun.

Until it’s not.

Israel

I can’t really write about this yet.  I’m horrified.  And ashamed.  I keep remembering 9/11 and  the dancing, happy “Palestinians” and assorted Hamas-al Queda-equally-vile-terrorist organizations and their sympathizers among “normal” (“moderate,” yeah, right) Middle Eastern people.  And then I remember that Israel, our great friend and ally, stood by us and was among the first nations to reach out to us in total support–in, as they said at the time, “solidarity” with us–at that truly traumatic time:  Sharon declared a national day of mourning in Israel, while the savages in surrounding countries skipped about in the streets, cheered, whooped, and generally had a grand time celebrating–celebrating, wrap your mind around that one–the terrorist attacks on our nation that claimed so many lives, that shocked us to our core and caused the entire nation, left and right, most “identity blocs,” to come together, if only for a brief time.  I’m ashamed that America, this land that I love, is doing absolutely nothing to help Israel (and apparently is doing everything to help her, and our, enemies).

I have many other thoughts and feelings about this, but they are rooted in my religious beliefs, so perhaps, at least for now, I will keep them to myself.  Suffice to say that Israel is important to God, that her enemies are God’s enemies, and that I can never forget, ignore, or otherwise belittle that Truth.  No matter how many terrorists fake photos and hide behind women and children and then shriek about “abuse” or “genocide.”  As an IDF soldier tweeted, Israel is targeting civilians but has only managed to hit fifty in five days?  “Bad aim?”  Yeah, right.  Israel is treating Gazan patients; Israel did not start this.  Hamas did.  Interestingly, and notably, they held off on this pressing act of jihad in the name of their prophet until after Obama was reelected.

The sad and strange

I’ve not really been following the whole Petraeus affair scandal, at least not very closely. It didn’t come out until the day after the election (so convenient), he stepped down (as he should; he showed faulty judgement and put himself–and, as a result of his position, this country–at great risk), and then he finally gave us the goods, or at least a map to the goods, on Benghazi.  Call me torn.

Apparently, Petraeus’s mistress not only stocked up on classified documents but also on big doses of crazy.  The document thing is worrying enough (and again points to Petraeus’s lack of judgement), but the setting up of multiple online identities to harass someone . . . well, just call the men in the white coats.  Now.  And yes, again, this goes back to Petraeus, but think about this for a minute.  Seriously.  Someone is not giving you the attention or feedback or response or whatever to which you imagine you are entitled, so you . . . create another account to get through to them?  And then another.  And another.  And another.  What goes on in your mind while this is going on?  Gee, this isn’t actually the act of a mentally-unbalanced threat to national security . . . heck! It’s only just barely stalking!  It’s sort of um . . . should I call myself “Sugar Lips” this time?  My head is itchy.  Think I’ll scratch my left big toe.  Wait!  Shhhhhh.   Did you hear that!?!  Maybe I’ll call myself “Sunshine Moonbeam the Loony” this time . . . .

That’s just messed up.  But I suspect this woman is in dire need of more than our nation’s security secrets and the head of the CIA’s intimate bits; she clearly needs psychiatric help.  Post hasty.  A prayer or two may not hurt.

Next up is perhaps the saddest bit of post-election news I’ve read yet (and I’ve read lots and lots of sad stuff since November 6th . . . and anticipate reaching overload by mid-spring).  Apparently, this small business owner in Key West killed himself because Obama won.  I think this is beyond tragic, and my heart goes out to his family and to his partner.

Hate to leave you on that down note, but that’s all I have for now.

6 thoughts on “Fuzzy Shorts: TEA Party’s Future, Taxing the “Rich”/ObamaCare Tax, Israel, and Sadness

  1. Well that about covers it. I’m so sick of the people in this world thinking they’re owed a comfortable life supplied by the rest of us, but isn’t that what Obama promised them to win his election.

  2. Lots to digest there. The rank and file bloggers are studying this harder than the political operatives I’m afraid. Obama’s smear campaign worked (although Romney was far from an ideal candidate), so I’m guessing the GOP plan for the future is something like, “Needs more cowbell!”

What say you?

