Fourth of July Celebrations for Dieters

 

The Fourth of July often means (over) eating some pretty unhealthy or at least fattening foods, but with so many people watching their weight, I thought it’d be fun to share some not so fattening recipes for this long holiday weekend (is it even a weekend if it lasts four days?).

Some Fourth of July foods are delicious and low in calories and fat:  watermelon. 

Oops, that’s the only one I can think of!  Potato salad, cole slaw, and deviled eggs are a bit on the not good side of dieting.

But here are some healthier, not so fattening recipes to try:

Confetti Potato Salad

2 cups of cooked potatoes cut into chunks

2 Tablespoons of Mustard

1 small jar of drained pimentos

1 tiny can of drained sliced black olives

1 Tablespoon of Light Mayo

Salt, Pepper

1 Teaspoon of relish (optional)

Mix call together and chill thoroughly.  Sprinkle top with paprika if desired.

Serves 4 for about 75 calories each.

 

Personally, I think light mayo is a vast improvement over fat-free mayo, but I might just use the real thing for this recipe . . . it’s only a tablespoon, after all.

South Beach Cole Slaw

Prep time: 20 minutes 4 Servings

Ingredients
1 cup mayonnaise
3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
3 tablespoons cider vinegar
1 1⁄2 teaspoons celery seed
1 teaspoon granular sugar substitute
1 small (1- to 1 1⁄2-pound) head green cabbage
shredded (TK cups)
1 small (1- to 1 1⁄2-pound) head red cabbage
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Okay, so this calls for a cup of mayo . . . hmmm.  Maybe use half a cup light and half a cup regular?

I couldn’t find a low fat deviled egg recipe (duh!), but if you’re going low carb, deviled eggs are the way to go!  How to make perfect deviled eggs

There are also a ton of recipes for healthier burgers from turkey burgers to salmon burgers, but if these zap the fun of the Fourth for you (they sound icky to me), why not have grilled chicken breast burgers (okay, sandwiches)?  Yum and far more “traditional” than a turkey burger with corn and tomato relish or a salmon burger with dill blah-dy blah.

Corn on the cob . . . well, skip all the salt and butter, and it’s still yummy.  Or buy those fake butter-tasting sprays (I can’t believe it’s not butter makes a decent one) and spritz a bit on the corn.

_________________________________________

Here’s an awesome general picnic site chock full of ideas, picnic basket packing tips, and cool recipes.

More healthy and diet recipes: http://www.fourth-of-july-celebrations.com/html/healthy-july-4th-recipes.html

Not so healthy recipes (including a divine sounding burger stuffed with bleu cheese).  Dieters beware!:  http://www.fourth-of-july-celebrations.com/html/entree-recipes-for-july-4th.html

 

7 thoughts on “Fourth of July Celebrations for Dieters

  1. I saw the headlines in a magazine in the grocery store that promise us that salt can help us loose weight. Now I did not read the article to how this comes to pass, but sounds good to me since I love, love, love salt. Thanks for the info on how to boil a perfect egg. I will try this next time…I tended to overcook mine.

  2. Hei Fuzz. Happy 4th of July to you and the yours!
    The Blue Cheese Burgers are me all time favs if am eating a burger. The links and the recipes are excellent, by the way. Like your blog a lot and am gonna have a good lookie n comment ere n der… Take care. =)

    PS. Fuzz, thank you ever so much for your support through the comments while I was away. Twas so lovely to see all the notes you’d left for me.

  3. thanks that looks so good,, buut were having greaaasy ribs,hehe

    mayo tatosalad, and apple pie..and lots of things not good for you,, hehehe ,,,jk.. well maybe not, but im starting my diet AGAIN on wed .soo ill try them then,,thank you.HAVE A SAFE AND FUN FILLED DAY ..GOD BLESS YOU

  4. Oooh, if salt can help us lose weight, I should be as skinny as Calista Flockhart! I love salt, too, Mavis, though I’ve noticed that now that I’m pushing forty, I tend to puff up when I have too much.

    Thanks, Riihele, you, too!! Your blog is awesome, so I love to stop by there and leave a note to let you know how I enjoy it.

    Thanks, Barbara, you, too!!

    Sissy, you are too funny! I forgot about ribs and even apple pie!! And nothing is as American as apple pie . . . shame on me!! LOL. Have a good one, my friend.

  5. Blah..blah..blah…yadda..yadda…yadaaa…when you start replacing low fat mayo with full fat mayo…you will have my full attention….

What say you?

