Fuzzy's Feel Good Viewing Guide

 

Depressed?  Lonely?  Stressed?  Sad?  Snowed in?  Lazy?  Whatever your reason, at some point in time we all need distraction in the form of feel good dvd viewing.  But what oh what to watch, you ask?  Worry not, for I’ve got just the list of dvds to keep you occupied and feeling good!

I’ve broken these into categories for easy reference, hope you enjoy!  Oh, and if you think of one or more that I’ve forgotten, let me know!!!

________________________________________________

It always makes me feel better to say, well, “At least I’m not . . .”

. . . stranded in a Thai prisonBridget Jones’ Edge of Reason

. . . married to the Devil’s sonDevil’s Advocate.

. . . dying of something or otherTerms of Endearment, Sweet November, Stepmom.

. . . trapped on an island with killer dinosaursJurassic Parks I and III (can’t recommend II, sorry)

. . . about to drive off the edge of the Grand CanyonThelma and Louise.

. .  . being hunted by sharksJaws.   Deep Blue Sea

. .  . lost in the woods and scared out of my mindThe Blair Witch Project.

_____________________________________________

Another thing that always makes me feel better is a little bit of escapism; I call this category “Children’s books writ large for the big screen”:

All the Harry Potters (rent them all and watch them in order)

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy (again, rent and watch them all; you’re depressed, what else do you have to do?)

Hook, Mary Poppins, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Herbie the Lovebug

___________________________________________

Oldies but Goodies that never fail to cheer me up:

The Sound of Music  Sing and dance in the Alps with the von Trapp family, fave song:  These are a Few of my Favorite Things.  Oh, or the “goodnight” song.

 It’s a Wonderful Life.  Sure, things are bad, but what if you’d never been born?  Hmmm?

Bringing Up Baby.  Big Cat hijinks with very watchable (read:  hot, hot, hot) Cary Grant and perky fun Katherine Hepburn

 Arsenic and Old Lace.  Yep, Cary Grant again (any of his films is worth the viewing, actually), this time he’s mixed up with his lovely aunts who just can’t stop murdering people and stuffing them in the window seat.

Gone with the Wind.  Four hour opus about . . . everything under the sun.

Hello Dolly. One of the few Barbara Streisand films I can stand because her overacting actually makes sense in this light and breezy musical comedy.

 The Ghost and Mrs. Muir.  Lovely and lovable film about . . . you guessed it! . . . the ghost and Mrs. Muir

______________________________________________

Movies that Make me Laugh:

Monty Python and the Holy Grail.  Quirky quest fun for the dry of humor and the smarty pants among us.

 The Jerk.  Steve Martin plays the title character hilariously, and we follow him from his beginnings as a “poor black child” to his fame and fortune and back again.

 Animal House.  Toga, toga!!  It’s a riotous romp through frat life, gross, rampantly misogynist, and just good fun.

 Caddyshack.  One of the funniest movies of all time, as far I’m concerned.  Bill Murray and his gopher/golfer confusion is fabulous.

Weekend at Bernies (the first one, the second was stupid. Er.).  Where’s the best place to hide a dead body?  Why, out in the open, of course!

 Summer Rental.  John Candy cracks me up in this one; it’s a riot from beginning to end.

 Miss Congeniality.  I love Sandra Bullock, and this film is just light and funny and good fun all ’round.

____________________________________________

Just Good Movies:

A Few Good Men, Memento, Braveheart, the Patriot, Platoon, Shawshank Redemption, When We Were Soldiers, Rainman, Independence Day, Walk the Line, Dead Again, Forrest Gump, Speed

As a rule, I don’t recommend “chick flicks” for sad women unless the films have something going on besides the traditional girl meets boy, girl loses boy, girl gets boy plot (Thelma and Louise is an example), so I’m not listing any here.

_________________________________________________

Television is a wonderful resource for the person in need of feel good viewing.  Some of my favorites are:

Buffy the Vampire Slayer (all seven seasons.  In order.  From the beginning)

Supernatural (It’s that good!)

Lost (so far this isn’t my favorite season, but the first two were great!)

Reno 9-1-1 (omg, this is the funniest, most politically incorrect show, and it is hil-friggin’-larious.  That’s them pictured above, note the guy in the shorts!!  Haha.)

The X-Files (again, working on the premise that escapism is good, reality is not)

_____________________________

Well, that’s my list for now, and though it’s not comprehensive, it’s got a good range of feel good viewing for even the most discerning viewer!

33 thoughts on “Fuzzy's Feel Good Viewing Guide

  1. Hei Fuzz.

    Great list. Thank You.
    I like Sandra Bullock as well; funny, clever n talented actress. I do not watch much TV, DVDs neither movies really hardly at all. I read, read n read some more instead in various languages.
    Nitey Nite n BiG HuGGi from Rii xx

  2. You are the best Fuzzy, this should keep me busy for awhile. I am like Rii and have never really watched tv. When I was married, I just let the hubby have the tv and stayed off in my books and computer. Now that I am hitting the treadmill, I need something else to do besides look at a wall, otherwise I think too much. I think I am going to start with the Harry Potter movies first. Thanks way more than you know!

  3. Right, I have known you for some time now. Your my BBB…everyone knows..I thought you were smart, a great debate buddy, a wonderful chat friend, a RLF… an educated woman with taste and thirst for quality entertainment and conversation. I need to be quite frank here…I thought I knew who you were, I thought I understood you, I thought we connected, I thought, oh I don’t know, I thought you of quality taste…I just don’t know you! We have absolutely nothing in common. The only things I remotely liked on your list was Lost (agreed..this season…not so good!) and Miss Congeniality. That’s it.

    We are not compatible! The dream has faded, the reality set in!

    Look, woman…give me Nip Tuck, Give me 24, Give me Strictly Come Dancing, Give me Soap Operas, Give me Little House on the Pararie, Give me Medium, Give me Grey’s Anatomy, Give me Roots, Give me my all time favorite movie..Beloved! Give me Men in Black, Give me Mr and Mrs Smith and anything James Bond…but for God’s sake…and all that is holy unto man…do not make me suffer through your list of shows and movies, heck..give me a book to read…I’d even consider watching Charmed or the financial channel.

    What I am trying to say is…interesting list.

  4. Buffy the Vampire Slayer… a bunch of actresses with eating disorders…I know you love the show BBB and I will give it a go just to figure out what you see in it.

  5. Discerning viewers watch Nip Tuck! OMG…I love that show…I don’t think this season starts in the UK until Feb or March…suppose reruns of Buggy, I mean Buffy will have to do!

  6. Great blog, Fuzz, sure you got me thinking about movies.

    “Children’s books writ large for the big screen”: Jungle Book, my old time favourite, this was what started me off to work in animation.Big impact on me, surely.
    Oldies but Goodies that never fail to cheer me up: “Grumpy old Men”, and have to agree with you on the “Sound of Music”.
    Could we squeeze in “Oliver” as well, while we are at musicals?
    Movies that Make me Laugh: “Meet the Parents”, “Along came Polly”, the “Diary of Bridget Jones” (1st one only!!!), “Cat’s dont dance” -animated movie never made it to the cinemas, both “Toy story”‘s (both made it to the cinemas:-))),
    “Wallace and Gromit short movies”.
    Just Good Movies: “Forrest Gump”, which I just re-watched two days ago, “Shine” (touchy stuff), “Munich” (serious stuff), “Microcosmos” (beautiful stuff).
    Television.. used to be “Six feet under” (this one I adored) but now I don’t really have fav.Is it me changing, or what is on offer, not sure.
    As you can see, my taste is a bit outdated. Nowadays I love to be locked in my den at night with Verdi’s “Requiem” or some other dramatic music (Mahler) and draw or paint. But occasionally I do crawl back to the Tv screen and watch a movie, although not too often.Once a week would be too much for me at this stage of my life.
    Hugzitties!!!Nighty night!

  7. Hi Rii, yes, I’m a big reader, too, but only in English, I’m afraid. I really regret that I’m not any better with languages! Huggs, and it’s always so wonderful to see you!

    It’s my pleasure, Pris! I’ve been there and to other icky places (most of them this year!), so the list was fun to do. Harry Potter’s a great place to start! Huggs to you, and do let me know if there’s anything else I can do to help.

    Amber, Amber, Amber, you are just the most annoying of all my BBB’s which is to say you are the one and only!! You crack me up, so you’re over me now, huh? Well, aren’t you the shallow hal? lmao!! I cannot stomach Nip/Tuck (even though I love that Julian guy since he was on . . . CHARMED!!); it’s too graphic for me, and how can you bash Buffy on the basis of imagined eating disorders when the show YOU tout is all about surgically becoming beautiful, thin, Barbie? Bah!
    Seriously, though, Buffy is very very cleverly written and done. I think it’s my favorite television show of all time!

    SOAP OPERAS? Are you kidding me? That’s brain cancer for you right there!! You’d not admit to liking Harry Potter but you’ll admit to liking that rubbish? Why even the people who act on them are embarrassed to say they act on them!!

    Beloved is one of the bestest books in all the land, but the movie STUNK. I did like Men in Black, though, so good call on that one!! And I fell asleep each of the ten times I tried to watch Mr. and Mrs. Smith because it’s easily the most slow starting yawn ever put on film. Even WITH Brad Pitt to ogle! Oh, but I do watch Medium, too, so that’s another. But I wouldn’t rent any of these ones to watch when I’m all droopy and depressed, and that was the point of the blog, to list things I’d rent to watch over. But I still love you, Amber, even if you reject me for my viewing habits. lmao.

    Grumpy Old Men, yes, Fanta! I forgot about that one. I also forgot the Lethal Weapons, those are good. And I loved the first Bridget Jones, too, but I’m not sure it’s right for depressed people with that happy ending and all. Can’t have that! 🙂 Toy Story! Yes!! And Monsters, Inc., did you like that one? I like Six Feet Under, too, but I’ve only just started watching it because it was only on the pay stations before. I was late getting into Sex and the City for the same reason, but love that show, too.

    Omg, I must have been blocking it out, Amber, but I just flashed to your saying something about . . . gasp, horror, icky slimy feeling all over . . . Little House on the Prairie? Blech. I didn’t like that sickly sweet stuff when I was a kid, and I’ve never seen it again as an adult. Did you like the Brady Bunch, too? (lmao teehee)

  8. “How can you bash Buffy on the basis of imagined eating disorders when the show YOU tout is all about surgically becoming beautiful, thin, Barbie? Bah!” I’ll concede this one…there is no argument on earth that could refute your statement. Fuzzy 1 Amber 0.

    Brady Bunch…uh..duh…yes! L-O-V-E-D I-T! Don’t forget the Partridge Family. Ahhh…sigh…yes, fab tv viewing…. Marsha..Marsha…Marsha!!!!

    Okay, common ground here…I won’t bash the buffy if you don’t poopoo the pararie…and I won’t even go into how much I like the Walton’s..Night John Boy(man he had a discusting mole!), Night, Billy Bob, Night Grand Dad, Night Pop..and so on…

    Someone say Six feet Under…it was awesome!
    Monster Inc….hilarious…
    Toy Story…devine…
    Sex in the City…addicitve….

    Shallow hal….even better…over the moon funny….

    Over my BBB? Never ever! Bigger things then the Buffy to do that…(no pun intended about the size thing…LOL..oh yes there was!)

    Helloo…Hellooo…testing 1, 2,3…is this mic on? Sometimes I think this stuff is only funny in my head….

  9. You’re perfect, Amber, absolutely fabulous (another good show!). And very very funny, too, so it’s not just in your head!! Huggs and love to you, BBB/RLF/BFF

  10. Gosh, hope mine came across as funny, too, it was meant to be and was a riot in my head, too. In fact my face hurts from smiling from reading yours then writing mine then reading your response to my response to your response. Personally, I think we “get” each other, so no worries!!

  11. Right, I am sitting here, rereading this our blogsation (new word: blog + conversation = blogsation)..testing 1..2..3…

    So I am rereading this and the very obvious fact smacks me right in the face..one that I am sure has been a problem for some years now…given I watched the pararie and the patridges….I WATCH TOO MUCH DANG TV! AMBER EXITS THE BLOG AND GOES SHOPPING AT THE NEWEST DEPARTMENT STORE IN TOWN. IT’S CALLED “GET A LIFE!”

  12. Amber gets half to “get a life” and remembers she hasn’t commented properly. Returns to blog to finish.

    Yes, your blog was funny. How many people can get the score Fuzzy 1 Amber 0!!!!!! Love you to BBB/RFL/BFF. (ps and how many can get me to say BBB/RFL/BFF like a school girl…probablly only one other person…UCB! LOL!

    To any of Fuzzy other blog friends reading this, it is not meant to make sense to anyone else! LOL!

  13. OMg..I missed it…you dissed my Soaps too! Oh the insanity, the inhumanity to man…dis the pararie…well okay…dis the patridges..and I try to find a common ground…but poopoo the Soaps is taboo! Having said that, I watch the UK soaps now like Eastenders, Emmerdale and Coronation Street. If you think the acting in the US soaps are bad, you have a run for your money comparing to these Brits. Its like someone walked up to a farm and said, wanta be an actor to all the local farm hands!

  14. The Love Boat….

    Love, exciting and new
    Come Aboard. We’re expecting you.
    Love, life’s sweetest reward.
    Let it flow, it floats back to you.
    The Love Boat soon will be making another run
    The Love Boat promises something for everyone
    Set a course for adventure,
    Your mind on a new romance.
    Love won’t hurt anymore
    It’s an open smile on a friendly shore.
    Yes LOVE! It’s LOVE!
    Love Boat soon will be making another run
    The Love Boat promises something for everyone
    Set a course for adventure,
    Your mind on a new romance.
    Love won’t hurt anymore
    It’s an open smile on a friendly shore.
    It’s LOVE! It’s LOVE! It’s LOVE!
    It’s the Love Boat-ah! It’s the Love Boat-ah!

  15. The memories are coming thick and fast now….

    Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale,
    A tale of a fateful trip
    That started from this tropic port
    Aboard this tiny ship.
    The mate was a mighty sailing man,
    The skipper brave and sure.
    Five passengers set sail that day
    For a three hour tour, a three hour tour.
    The weather started getting rough,
    The tiny ship was tossed,
    If not for the courage of the fearless crew
    The minnow would be lost, the minnow would be lost.
    The ship set ground on the shore of this uncharted desert isle
    With Gilligan
    The Skipper too,
    The millionaire and his wife,
    The movie star
    The professor and Mary Ann,
    Here on Gilligans Isle.
    So this is the talel of the castways,
    They’re here for a long, long time,
    They’ll have to make the best of things,
    It’s an uphill climb.
    The first mate and the Skipper too,
    Will do their very best,
    To make the others comfortable,
    In the tropic island nest.
    No phone, no lights no motor cars,
    Not a single luxury,
    Like Robinson Crusoe,
    As primative as can be.
    So join us here each week my freinds,
    You’re sure to get a smile,
    From seven stranded castways,
    Here on “Gilligan’s Isle.”

    Gilligan’s Isle…I always wanted to be Maryanne!

  16. OMG I don’t think I can stopped…I feel another song coming on….Hey..you started all the tv talk….Here is comes…

    Green acres is the place for me.
    Farm livin’ is the life for me.
    Land spreadin’ out so far and wide
    Keep Manhattan, just give me that countryside.
    New York is where I’d rather stay.
    I get allergic smelling hay.
    I just adore a penthouse view.
    Dah-ling I love you but give me Park Avenue.
    …The chores.
    …The stores.
    …Fresh air.
    …Times Square
    You are my wife.
    Good bye, city life.
    Green Acres we are there.

    That song makes be want to take off my white gloves and slap a traffic cop!..Odd isn’t it!

  17. Amber takes a deep breath…surveys the amount of blog comments she has made above. Amber blog buddy do an intervention! Ab finally admits she has a problem…she goes to shut of the computer…dry out a bit…

    Oh wait…not quite yet…

    Well we’re movin on up, To the east side.
    To a deluxe apartment in the sky.
    Movin on up
    To the east side.
    We finally got a piece of the pie.
    Fish don’t fry in the kitchen;
    Beans don’t burn on the grill.
    Took a whole lotta tryin’
    Just to get up that hill.
    Now we’re up in teh big leagues
    Gettin’ our turn at bat.
    As long as we live, it’s you and me baby
    There ain’t nothin wrong with that.
    Well we’re movin on up,
    To the east side.
    To a deluxe apartment in the sky.
    Movin on up
    To the east side.
    We finally got a piece of the pie.

    Man the Jefferson’s were hysterical. I had a crush on Mr Jefferson! Okay..I have said to much now..

  18. Grandma got runned over by a reindeer, walking home from our house christmas even…dang it! I went back to read your previous blog and now this song is stuck in my head!

  19. Okay, now I’m laughing too hard to even type properly!! AND I have Gilligan’s Island theme stuck in my head; thanks tons, Amb.

    Oh, and while you’re out getting a life, will you pick one up for me? I just have to finish watching this What Not to Wear marathon . . .

  20. Yay! I love the Sound Of Music, it’s so awful but wonderful at the same time…those fetching outfits made of curtains and Captain Von Trapp strumming away to Eidelweiss, eeek. Alos love the Jurassic Park ones, with my son, same for Independance Day, great film.
    And yay, BUffy and SPN, yes, Buffy might be full off skinny women but the males make up for it…

  21. Tally, anyone who can type at all before coffee gets my undying admiration! OOOh, and am watching Season Six of Buffy now, and as always think Spike looks good enough to eat! hehe

  22. Hey Fuzzy,

    I just love the Bridget Jones films and have the first one on DVD. However, I think the second one is funnier and I wish that I had that one on DVD as well. I watched it the other day when I was feeling lonely and she always makes me smile. Have just noticed on a TV advert that the first one is on the tv on Sunday night and you can bet your bottom doller that I will be watching it no matter what mood I am in its a laugh. I think everyone including me thinks that they have a part of Bridet Jones in them so maybe thats why we all love her to bits and you cant help but feel sorry for her in her bad times and so happy for her when she has a good time.

    I agree with you about the good movies with “A few good men” as well and I must admit to know all the words to that one having watched it about 20 times. You want answers, i want the truth, you can’t handle the truth. I could go on but I won’t bore you.

    My favourtie tv programme of the moment are Desperate Housewifes as that always makes me smile, Ugly Betty as you have to sympathise with her as well and its funny and then I just like The OC myabe its the hunky men in it.

    Hugs to you again, my great 360 friend. x

  23. hey Snuggles! You know all the words to A Few Good Men? That’s impressive; I used to know all the words to Animal House of all things! I absolutely adore Bridget Jones, both films!! And I think you are absolutely right that we all see parts of ourself in her. God knows, I flubb stuff up like she does and feel rock bottom depressed about not having a relationship some days (not on others, though, so that’s good).

    I don’t watch any of those shows, though I know they are supposed to be good. Just that they come on when something else I’m watching is on . . . I’ll catch them in syndication, though. The OC is being cancelled, did you know? I just heard not too long ago. I LOVED that show the first season, but then it went downhill, I thought, so I didn’t watch it after about a month of the second season.

    Huggs to YOU, my great 360 friend; I think you rock!! :))

  24. Yer I know its sad to know all the words of a film. You would never want to watch that film with me, I would mumble all the words as the film was playing and spoil your enjoyment no doubt.

    Thats bad about the OC. I shall have to go back and watch them all from the beginning again then when I get withdrawl symptons. They are re-running Alley Mcbeal on TMF from the first series at the moment so i’m happy. I can see a bit of Alley in me as well I think. Hugs to my fav 360 friend. x

  25. How’d I miss this one, I wonder? Anyway, thank you so much for reading back through these and commenting, Snuggles, you really are a very good friend, and you mean so much to me! It’s things like this that show where and what your heart is. Yay! :)) Huggs!! :))

What say you?

