Christmas: 1 — Political Correctness: 0 or . . . not??

Can  it be?  Did someone somewhere actually get it right?  Has the tide turned in the so-called “war on Christmas”?  Or did Christmas just win the battle and not the war?  A Pyrrhic victory or a more substantial shift?  The Seattle airport in Washington state removed nine Christmas trees on Friday night as a result of Rabbi Elazar Bogomilsky’s request that they display a (that’s as in ONE) menora among the “holiday trees.”  

Can I just pause and say that the politically correct term for a Christmas tree IS Christmas tree!  It’s not a “holiday” tree, for goodness’ sake.  The only reason we’ve been forced to say “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas” is that there are several holidays celebrated in December, but only ONE holiday is represented (now, anyway) by the Christmas tree.  A Jewish menora is not a “holiday candle” nor is  a Kwanzaa kinera a “holiday” candle. 

Okay, so the Rabbi wants to have a bit of display at the sprawling enormous airport to represent his beliefs alongside those of his Christian neighbors; he didn’t want nine menoras installed, after all, and he didn’t even dictate where the proposed menora should go.  Furthermore, he volunteered to provide the airport with a menora for the purpose of displaying it (i.e. doing so wouldn’t cost the airport a dime).  The airport’s reaction?  Well, we won’t be accused of having favorites, and we won’t be put in the position of catering to every religion going, so we’ll just pull those pesky symbols of Christmas.  That’s good, right?  No more Christmas, no more controversy.

Oh, never had they been more wrong.  People, including the good Rabbi, were appalled.  Sure, he threatens to sue, but how else to let the big business that is the Seattle airport know that he’s serious after having asked nicely once?  He wasn’t suing to remove the trees nor for the display of nine menoras alongside the nine Christmas trees.  I wish he hadn’t threatened suit, but we live in a litigious society these days, so I’m not all that surprised he felt that it was his only recourse.  When a woman can sue McDonalds because her kid’s obese . . . (sigh, but that’s a whole other topic).

The trees are back up at Seattle airport, but not the menora.  Personally, I think that’s a travesty; the airport, at least to my mind, was wrong and should not only apologize but also display the menora.  What’s the big?  Anyway, they are in talks with the Rabbi to figure out the very complicated procedure for displaying the nine Christmas trees and one menora NEXT year.  Sigh.  Poor old King Pyrrhus; don’t you just feel for him?

_________________________________________

For information on the war on Christmas:

Michelle Malkin’s column, including a link to the John Gibson book that coined the term:  http://michellemalkin.com/archives/003977.htm

Report on Bill O’Reilly’s take on it, including vid:  http://mediamatters.org/items/200511210003

Rebuttal by the Washington Post entitled “What War on Christmas?”:  http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/12/09/AR20051209013…

 

26 thoughts on “Christmas: 1 — Political Correctness: 0 or . . . not??

  1. ohhh don’t tell me about the Christmas political correctness drama…here some places have been banned from celebrating christmas, the council have decided to call it things like “Winterfest” so as not to upset the Muslims 😐 Never mind that the muslims have NEVER, to my knowledge, complained about anyone celebrating christmas in england, wtf?

  2. OMG, you’re kidding, Tally! Winterfest? Geez! That’s like calling Easter eggs “Holiday Ova”. Yikes! Surprised that hasn’t taken hold over here!!

  3. lmao @ holiday ova. But yes, winter fest, or just “happy holidays”, it’s ridiculous. and many schools now won’t do the nativity play, as is traditional, because it’s not “multi-faith” *rolls eyes*

  4. A multi-faith NATIVITY play? Now I’ve heard it all. It really makes you wonder how long before they just wipe all signs of all religions off the map; in an effort not to offend anyone, everyone is offended and everyone loses.

  5. I know, it’s ridiculous. There’s 2 asian kids in Alex’s class. Now, alex’s school did do a nativity but they didn’t give the asian kids starring roles…they were both narrators, like half a dozen other kids, and those parts didn’t have to wear any costume or tinsel like the other kids. PC on the part of the teachers, I’m sure. “No! Musn’t put tinsel on the muslim children, we might get sued!”
    The funny thing is, both the muslim children have sent out chitmas cards, like i said before, it’s not other people/religions that have the issues, it’s the goverment worrying about people suing and offending others, it’s crazy. *Gets off soapbox*

  6. LMAO Fuzzy. How did you get your highlight window to nestle down over top of your blog window so’s I can’t read it? Anyway..I read most of what your post was about, enough to know that I am also getting tired of having to watch every little thing I say. Sheesh..cmon people how about leaving politically correct s*** in the garbage where it belongs..me…I think I will start purposly being politically incorrect and see what happens…do ya think anyone really cares?

  7. lol, love your soap boxy self, Tally. I think that you feel what a lot of us feel in this regard, and the Muslim kids sending Christmas cards just illustrates your point about it not being about people so much as politics. Sigh.

    Well, just between you and me, Mavis, I am not saying “Happy Holidays” this year; I’ve decided to be terribly scandalous and un-PC and say “Merry Christmas” to reflect my own religious beliefs in this land of religious freedom. If I get thrown in the clink, maybe I’ll see you there? lmao

  8. yeah, i noticed that…do you write directly into your blog or do you type it out in Office or something? Cause it doesn’t just “fit” in the blog box, it’s kind of wider…if i’m making sense…

  9. Ugh, no I type it directly into the “Compose Blog Entry” box. This is so sad. Are they all like that? Or only this one? Can’t think why it’s happening. Maybe I should de-highlight blogs? What to do, what to do?

  10. ‘Twas the night before Christmas and Santa’s a wreck…
    How to live in a world that’s politically correct?
    His workers no longer would answer to “Elves”
    “Vertically Challenged” they were calling themselves
    And labor conditions at the north pole
    Were alleged by the union to stifle the soul
    Four reindeer had vanished, without much propriety
    Released to the wilds by the Humane Society
    And equal employment had made it quite clear
    That Santa had better not use just reindeer
    So Dancer and Donner, Comet and Cupid
    Were replaced with 4 pigs, and you know that looked stupid!

    The runners had been removed from his sleigh;
    The ruts were termed dangerous by the E P A
    And people had started to call for the cops
    When they heard sled noises on their roof-tops
    Second-hand smoke from his pipe had his workers quite frightened
    His fur trimmed red suit was called “Unenlightened”

    And to show you the strangeness of life’s ebbs and flows
    Rudolf was suing over unauthorised use of his nose
    And had gone on Geraldo, in front of the nation
    Demanding millions in over-due compensation

    So, half of the reindeer were gone; and his wife
    Who suddenly said she’d enough of this life
    Joined a self-help group, packed, and left in a whiz
    Demanding from now on her title was Ms

    And as for the gifts, why, he’d ne’er had a notion
    That making a choice could cause so much commotion
    Nothing of leather, nothing of fur
    Which meant nothing for him. And nothing for her
    Nothing that might be construed to pollute
    Nothing to aim. Nothing to shoot
    Nothing that clamoured or made lots of noise
    Nothing for just girls. Or just for boys
    Nothing that claimed to be gender specific
    Nothing that’s warlike or non-pacific

    No candy or sweets … they were bad for the tooth
    Nothing that seemed to embellish the truth
    And fairy tales, while not yet forbidden
    Were like Ken and Barbie, better off hidden
    For they raised the hackles of those psychological
    Who claimed the only good gift was ecological

    No baseball, no football … someone could get hurt;
    Besides; playing sports exposed kids to dirt
    Dolls were said to be sexist, and should be passe;
    And Nintendo would rot your entire brain away

    So Santa just stood there, dishevelled, perplexed;
    He just could not figure out what to do next
    He tried to be merry, tried to be gay
    But you’ve got to be careful with that word today
    His sack was quite empty, limp to the ground;
    Nothing fully acceptable was to be found

    Something special was needed, a gift that he might
    Give to all without angering the left or the right
    A gift that would satisfy, with no indecision
    Each group of people, every religion;
    Every ethnicity, every hue
    Everyone, everywhere … even you
    So here is that gift, it’s price beyond worth …
    “May you and your loved ones enjoy peace on earth”

    Love yeah, BBB!

  11. omg, omg, omg, that is just fecking hilarious, BBB!! How fabulous and spot on. Huggs and love and “peace on earth” to you!! lmao

  12. Mavis and Tally, thank you SO much for letting me know that my blog posts were all unreadable! I think I’ve solved it by dehighlighting a bunch of posts . . . did I?

  13. i have to say that the best summing up i have seen was done by larry the cable guy doing twas the night before xmas.

    Why is it if we whine about other faiths we are being racist on religious grounds, but if they whinge about us they are “within their rights”?????? OH FECK I GONNA GO BEFORE I EXPLODE!!!!!!

  14. I am totally a Merry Christmas person and it gauls me when people try to drop the Christ from it. When I was a child, I wrote xmas one time, and boy, did my momma fire up on that one. She gave me the preaching of a lifetime, so now, regardless, I make sure I put Christ in my Christmas. Of course you have to keep in mind that I live down here in the bible belt, so we don’t have many Jews, or Muslims, and if we did, people would just roll their eyeballs at them.

  15. Merry Christmas Everybody!!!! Funny htis statred out as a story about the trees at Seatac. Your comments sections always go all over the place, how funny. I have neer seen your blog get mixed up like mavis was sayin, but some peple see thing differently on their screens. i sometimes hae to scroll back and forth tho read your blog, but WTH. I often wonder why we ahve to be so PC, but every other person from every other nation can come here and celebrate their history and holidays, and we treat those like we all embrace their traditions. Well, i for one, dont.I embrace our treaditions and holidays. I dont care if someone else doesnt like Merry christmas, It is what we have doen here for quite a while, and I will continue to say it. You go Fuzzy girl.

  16. I tell you it really gets my goat when people try to take god out of everything and try to change traditions that bring such joy to many.
    With all the problems and issues we have in the world. Perhaps we should be concentrating on the war and our economy and homeless and abuse. I could go on and on.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL AND HAPPY HANUKKAH AND HAPPY QUANZA. I think I got them all.

  17. I have to tell you Fuzz, Seattle is my back yard and I didn’t hear about this. Further more, I look at Seattle and the political meanderings of that area with the highest regard. It surprises me that it did not QUICKLY comply with the Rabbi’s request. The political/cultural atmosphere there (80 miles away where I live is mildly different in this respect) would have surprised me that the next day, symbols of twenty or thirty religions were not present in that massive airport. The problem comes when they start to present the story of religions that even we, the most tolerant of the Northwest become offended.

  18. It is rather upsetting that we can’t even celebrate a holiday in peace, especially when this holiday is religious in nature to beging with. I agree with your guys that there are much larger issues for us to be worrying about than seeing a Christmas tree in a public place. Freedom of religion is promised, not freedom FROM religion!

  19. I got so wound up I spelled wrong again! I meant to say “religious in nature to begin with.” Sorry about that! I will try not to make typos a common theme. :p

  20. Hei Fuzz.

    Another interesting take on a topic. Will have to check them links… Take care n have a grand weekend. HuGGiz Rii xx

  21. I’ve not heard the cable guy do the night before Christmas Monty, but I’ll check it out online, and you’re right on about the hypocricy of religious “freedom”; the only people NOT free to express their religion are Christians. Yeah, I’m following you out before I explode . . .

    Ooops, couldn’t go. Need to respond more . . .

    Now, Pris, it’s not nice to roll our eyes at nonChristians. They can gouge our eyes out of our heads and then step on them until they squish out everywhere, but not us. We must . . . well, turn the other cheek. Silently, of course. No pesky utterings that may be politically incorrect. (am feeling very giddy with the return to 360, so am being more snarky than usual.) Merry CHRISTmas, Pris!! Huggs.

    Yo Lise, yeah, I’ve come to love and appreciate how the conversation here always rambles around and away from my posts; it keeps things interesting, huh? MERRY CHRISTMAS, Lise!! Huggs.

    Teehee, Bert, I just love your sense of humor; always have. And you bring up a wonderful point; what the heck does it matter how I celebrate whatever I want (as long as I don’t do so in a way that endangers anyone!) when we have a war and famine and pestilence and genocide and so much turmoil in the world? Surely, we have better and more important things to worry about than who decorates what place with what ornamentation. I wish. Huggs Bert!

    Hey Gregg, yeah, I was a bit stumped at first when I heard the tale of the menora request . . . but then it made sense; ultimately what will happen is that ANY expresssion of any religion will be limited to the secrecy and privacy of our homes. Anyone reminded of the dark ages? I sure am.

    Hey Ceres!! PERFECTLY stated: “Freedom of religion is promised, not freedom FROM religion.” Wish I’d thought to put that in, or even thought of it. Love the turn of phrase and love the sentiment’s precision. You go, Girl!! Huggs.

    Well, you know me, Diggy Rii, just doing my too candid thing and hoping for some good discussion. Huggs to you!!

  22. I know I am responding to a Christmas post in May…better late than never…lol
    I am so into Christmas, I love it, it’s my favorite holiday of the year! That Rabbi was a bit of a trouble maker but the airport could have displayed the menora…no biggie really. But for the Rabbi to threaten with a lawsuit….that’s ridiculous. Pretty soon Christmas will no longer be celebrated in public places, everyone has a problem and no one is every happy no matter how much the problem is worked on!
    I also get pissed off at X-Mas….it’s Christmas! Every year I buy 2 sets of cards, Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday as some of my friends are Jewish and some are not Catholic or religious. But most of the Jews I do know, put up Christmas trees and hand out Christmas presents! And they are NOT offended by Merry Christmas!

  23. You’re way better than I am, Maggie, I do two sets of cards, but only because one set (the Happy Holidays) one goes to people at work (and I don’t know all their religions, etc.). If it weren’t for that I’d send out Christmas cards to everyone just like I always have; it’s a holiday I am observing, not forcing someone else to. If they don’t want the card, they can throw it away. Grrrr.

    Up here, they’ve made it so you can’t even display the nativity anymore. I mean in town centers and public areas like the courthouse, where they used to always be. It’s so sad! I wish that people would just leave us alone! Okay, see how that gets me riled.

    Anyway, I LOVE Christmas, and I always get excited about it and decorate like mad and think it is marvelous and fun and shiny.

    I’m so glad you found this old post, Maggie!! Huggs

What say you?

