Who Am I?

.

This is going to be fun . . . I’m going to take on the persona (okay, not really their persona, um, per se) and you get to guess who I’m pretending to be (read: this is my new approach to griping because the traditional, rational approach is pretty pointless in the face of the completely irrational):

If you can believe it, I made only just over three hundred thousand dollars a year at my job at a top tier university. Yes, that’s right, only $300k, and before that I made only just over $100,000. But then they came along and raised the bar (wait, is that what I meant?). Anyway, with that teensy amount of money, I had to pay back my student loans–more on this outrage later, ensure my kids got the best piano and blah blah instructors going, and save for their educations, etc. On a paltry $300k (well, and what my husband was making, but that’s a whole other saga of unfairness and inequity.).

What is this country coming to when you have to pay back your student loans to the most expensive universities and law schools in the country? I mean, really! No one told me that it would take twenty years to pay off my twenty-year six figure loans. I couldn’t be expected to do that kind of math, now could I? Since they snuck these loan agreements on me BEFORE I got my Ivy League education. See how they treat women in this country? Black people? It’s an embarrassment.

Then we, that’s my fabulously Ivy-educated hubby and myself, get out of school, weighted by debt that we didn’t expect, and all of a sudden we have to . . . achieve. Hrmph! Wasn’t it enough that I become educated, now I have to work, too? And not just work, but actually be successful, have expectations placed on me as a professional. What in the world is THAT? Then, and this is where we verge on the surreal, we achieve a goal, and all of a sudden, there are more expectations, more responsibilities, more demands. I bet that never happens to men. Or white people. Clearly, things are at an all time low in this country when I am expected to meet my employers’ expectations, and then those expectations change! It’s like . . . a bad (racist) movie about an evil empire intent on subjugating the upper classes. Get this close, and ooops, you have to work harder, go further. Next thing we know, my husband will be elected president, and what then? I bet they’ll want him to DO something, there will be demands to meet, bars to strive for . . . what else can you expect from such a crappy country? That’s all we need, my husband being stressed out and having to . . . oh, I don’t know run the country. It’s just one more thing, you know? And for what? A paltry salary, heck, I made more than that my first year out of Harvard law. And then the demands will start, the expectations, the criticism, the . . . I shudder to think of it, really.

That’s not how it’s supposed to be. I want to live in a country that respects me, that hands me a stellar education, a six figure salary–and all the percs of both, and that doesn’t ask for anything in return. I want to coast along doing as much as I think I should, given my limitations–the main ones being the horrible country that I live in and the way it abuses people like me, and getting what I think I deserve. I want to live in a country that worships me, as I worship myself. I want to live in a country in which I can take pride–for a change.

Oh, and speaking of change, did I mention that I invented it. No, really. Not like Al Gore invented the internet, like seriously, I invented change. Well, not just me, my husband muttered something about it while he was busy not voting (aka being “present”) in the Senate, and it just struck me that change is good. And because my life’s been so hard–such an unfair, uphill battle–I want things changed. I’m not sure exactly what I mean by the word, though, but I know it involves me and I know it involves me getting everything for nothing, and isn’t that all that matters? Isn’t that what makes a country great? Bootstraps and dreams? Hrmph! I have a dream, alright, but it’s not (fingers waggling in scare quotes) American (fingers still waggling madly), and it doesn’t involve earning or deserving a darn thing.

I guess you can tell that’s been building for a while, and seeing Her Highness gabbling crazily yet again last night, I just couldn’t not say something. Seriously. She makes me angry. And a bit sick to my stomach.

9 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Thank goodness we have a place to let some steam out. Well I guess your situation is even better at least, you get the loan to further your education to any level you desire. that to me is still goodnews compared to the system here in Nigeria precisely where you have to do every thing from your meager income i’m talking from experience. Thanks for posting!

  2. Hey Kerry, yeah, she’s a piece of work, let me tell you. Don’t listen to her; she’ll make you nuts.

    Hi Mee, you are SO right, sorry for the rant here, but I’ve been listening to her complain about all the priviledges she’s enjoyed as an American and bashing us again and again until I just couldn’t take it anymore. Sad, but I let it get the best of me. As always, you are the voice of reason and right; we are lucky to have what we have, to have access to the things we do, and her lack of (I don’t know) appreciation of that fact makes me cringe. Thanks for your fab comments! πŸ™‚

  3. I am amazed to hear this. Has she really intimated this as a serious point of view? I really hope we are not being sucked into another dish of problems. Personally, I feel women need to step up to the plate with a little more integrity, it could change the world.

  4. You realize of course that you will be labeled a racist for having a non conformist to the party line opinion. The unfortunate part is that there are a lot of people who can hardly afford to pay back their college loans. Maybe some of whom shouldn’t have gone anyway. Sometimes it’s like buying a house you can’t afford. Maybe you shouldn’t have been given the loan but there is no one to question that and they look at it more like a Vegas gamble. I don’t know more things seem screwed up right now than should be. I think I’ll vote for the worst people so they’ll run this country into the mud and we can have a revolution and start over. That probably won’t work right either. I think the cartoon on my blog might fit this mystery person!
    Anyway you’re quite the humorist and I hope you keep writing so I can get some chuckles out of this misery. πŸ™‚

  5. Hey Starlight, nice to hear from you! πŸ™‚ And she’s not intimated which is a serious point of view? That she’s finally proud for the first time in her life of her country or that she thinks that her loans were expensive and shouldn’t take so long to pay back? Or that she feels that she and her husband are constantly (and unfairly) having the “bar raised” just when he thinks he’s “there”? Or that she feels that she (personally) has been treated unfairly by “this country”? Not sure which you mean to suggest she’s not intimated seriousness about, but I think that she’s dead serious about it all, and I think that she’s “green” politically, or we’d not know this much of what she thinks. I’ve been biting my tongue (well, swatting my fingers when they itch to dance on the keyboard) about her husband, but I thought I’d indulge here. A bit harshly, yes, but in order to stay true to myself (conduct myself with that integrity you mention), I had a bit of smarta$% fun with a woman whose public image (the only one I know) is unimpressive in the extreme. At least to me.

    Thanks, Heyman! It’s great to see that you’re still around! And yes, I know, anyone who says anything about these two that isn’t fauninly sycophantic is just “unfair” and “racist.” Isn’t that ridiculous? Wonder how that would play on the world stage if he got elected president? (pause. digest.) Besides, anyone can just read back and see that while I was hesitant about his lack of experience and his (un)canny ability to talk for ages, say nothing, and sound great doing it, I was more than willing to give him a chance. Maybe in 2012 (I can’t say I ever thought he was viable this time. Still don’t.).

  6. I have to read more about what she is saying; I have not heard very much from her, as I have not heard much of Bill C. I am truly pre-occupied with other living matters. I know this is important, but if what you say is true, then this is the kind of person I have to detest. I am reluctant to do so because so many people I admire have great hopes for Barack’s potential to be a true patriot. This talk from his wife though, if it is correct, nauseates me, and I detest the idea of people expecting what their country can do for them without giving anything in return. I am not a bleeding heart democrat, and the persona portrayed here cannot be anything good for my country, and has no place in the Leader’s House.

    I think too many women, are each other’s worst enemy, and it is sad, and I consider it a tragic attitude.

  7. Don’t get me wrong, Starlight, I’m all about supporting women, but not merely because they are women, that’s no reason to stand silent when someone says something I find loathesome. I ran into a similar problem in acedeme when we sang to the high heavens the praise of anything written by anyone with a vagina . . . whether it was good or crap, it needed to “be heard” and blah blah blah. Sorry, but I just don’t think that does a thing for women’s rights; lowering the bar can never be good for anyone of any race or gender. Well, at least to me, anyway.

    And sadly, she was serious . . . she’s always serious, it seems. Sense of humor wouldn’t kill that one, that’s for sure. πŸ™‚

What say you?

