Lipstick on a Bulldog

Sarah Palin gave her acceptance speech last night at the RNC, and can I just say that I stood up in my living room and applauded several times during the course of it–something I’ve never done when I’ve heard Barack Obama give his long-winded empty speeches about “change.” There’s buzz today about her being too “sarcastic,” too “mean,” and too “harsh,” but you know what? I think she (as many pundits were saying immediately after) hit it out of the park. That was a brilliant speech, brilliantly delivered.

She had several avenues she might have traveled last night, and I think she took the best course in terms of letting America know what she cares about and who she is. I suspect that she, like John McCain, is the same person no matter what state she’s in or which audience she’s addressing, that she holds the core beliefs that she espouses no matter who berates her for them, and that she intends to continue using her career for change (rather than vice versa).

Some of the points she made I’ve been making all along: Obama talks pretty, says nothing, and does less. It might be “mean” to say if his lack of . . . well, experience, action, anything were due to some sort of personal problem he couldn’t help, but it’s not, it’s because he’s writing (two!!) biographies and running for president instead of actually doing anything to spark “change we can believe in.” Palin pointed out that Obama writes bios instead of bills; well, it’s true, he does. He does use “change” to create his career rather than his career to create change. It’s just the facts.

Aside from that, she just made me proud to be an American, proud to be a woman, proud to be an American woman. She didn’t ask me to believe in her (like a god?) or to take a leap of faith; she just said what she’s done and told me, told us all, what she holds dear. It resonated with me in a way that nothing Barack Obama can or will say; I’m a tired old English teacher, I listen for content and want to know what supports the central thesis, and I’m constantly disappointed by Obama’s speeches in those terms (though, again and again, I’ve said he gives a pretty speech and is easy on the eyes).

One of the moments that had me up, off my couch and skipping around clapping my hands, was when Governor Palin announced that in her cutting of the chaff from the Alaskan state budget, she eyeballed the governor’s fancy jet plane and determined that this was an unnecessary burden on the taxpayers of her state, and . . . she put the jet on eBay.

That’s the kind of leader I can believe in, one that puts her money where her mouth is (she also decided her family could struggle along without the chef provided also by the state/tax payers). What she does and has done speaks volumes of pretty pretty speeches, and I’m there, in the McCain camp waving my sign and preparing to vote for that ticket, even as I carefully pack away my Hillary gear . . . at least for the next four years.

15 thoughts on “Lipstick on a Bulldog

  1. Realistically she has the potential to steal Hillary’s hoopla for next election. That is if Bill can keep his pants zipped and dodge the need for investigating the millions of dollars going to the library and probably into his pocket. Palin Power for me! She could be the first woman president!

  2. the more i read about any of them, the more i don’t want to vote for any of them. i am scared for the future of our country and nothing either candidate, or their running mates, has said makes me feel any different.

  3. Woot! Heyman, I find her amazingly compelling and powerful, too; I have no objections to her being our first female president πŸ™‚ More governors go to the White House than senators, after all, so governing experience does count.

    I know, Kerry, it’s so easy to feel apathetic in this political, social, and global situation. But you have to vote; otherwise, the future of our country truly is out of our hands. Huggs to you!

    lmao, Laurie, naw, I’ve even less applicable experience than Obama (and that’s saying something!) has to run this country. But you rock for making me smile πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Meee!! So grand to see you πŸ™‚ And yes, I think she comes across as very genuine, and you’re spot on about her seeming confident and capable.

  5. I’ll have to watch the videos. I do like Sarah and would love a leader with a no-s**t attitude, but how much can we really rely on a vice president unless the pres. dies while in office?? Do they (VPs) really have any power to make change?
    In the back of my mind, I can’t help but think that choosing Sarah was another political ploy to possibly pick up the disheartened Hillary supporters. It just might be the smartest thing that McCain has done so far.
    I want to believe in someone. . .I really do!

  6. I think a LOT of people feel that way, Kerry 😦 Huggs to you, though πŸ™‚

    Hey Nancy, and you’re right the VP doesn’t do much, really; preside over the Senate and go to functions to represent America. But Dick Cheney, when he wasn’t shooting people in the face, seems to have taken a few strides towards changing that; the role may be in flux, and if it is, then I’d love to see what Sarah Palin can do with it. And I’m sure that his choosing her was partly politics; how could it not be? But I do wonder who might be VP if there hadn’t been a maverick out there like her, who put walked the walk. We’ll never know, but I like to think that he wouldn’t have chosen just anyone with a vagina. But, hey, that’s just me πŸ™‚ Your last comment is the most jarring for me, and the most thought-provoking . . . I, too, SO want to believe in someone. I guess we’ll see as the next two months unfold if there’s any substance there. Yay! Fun comments πŸ™‚

  7. I want to see Sarah Palin do well. I feel like she has been the most “real” person we have had involved so far. She is very much a “man’s man.” She seems to be able to communicate with us working poor =)

  8. I’m with Kerry, I don’t like any of them… and the unfortunate thing is I haven’t liked any of them for many elections prior! I hate to say this, and I’m sure you’ll send the firing squad out for me… but I don’t believe my sole vote counts for much at all. I whole-heartedly disbelieve in the electoral college system (me and Al Gore) with technology as advanced as it is, there is most definitely a way to tally each persons’ vote, popular vote winning, of course. The electoral college can and has gone against what the popular vote ended up being. Hence my reasoning in not believing that my one sole vote counts!

  9. Here, hear Laurie! I think that nails it for me, too πŸ™‚

    And oh, Kerry, can I confess to kind of giggling when I typed that? Yay us! πŸ™‚

    You know, Wendy, I see what you mean, and I don’t have a response. Here in Mass, I’ll be “tossing away” my vote for the Republican ticket because our EC will go with Obama . . . oh, the sadness of that. BUT if another president wins the popular vote and still loses the White House so soon after it happened to Gore, maybe we, the people, will speak up and things can get changed. That document we all know and love isn’t set in stone, thanks to the foresight of our founding fathers, so something like McCain getting the popular vote and Obama winning the presidency may just be enough to get that EC process changed. We’ll have to vote, wait, and see. Or not vote and just have some Mex and margaritas? That’s a possibility; I could meet you on my way home from the polls πŸ™‚

  10. Mex and margaritas, I do believe, is the perfect answer to EVERYTHING!!

    You mentioned something that seems pretty much amazing to me… I am a very “here and now” kinda gal. Do you seriously believe that our forefathers had foresight into this process??? If they did, then I am absolutely and most definitely in awe — could they have foreseen things multi-hundred years into the future??? If they could, and have left an opening for future progress (or regress depending on the circumstances) then I give them more credit than my revolutionary mind can comprehend!!!

  11. So it’s a Mex and margaritas on election day date, then! Yay!! And I’m not sure how much foresight the forefathers had, but they did leave room for changes to be made to the Constitution (thus the Amending process), so they must have realized that things would move forward, or in some cases backward, and that their document would need amending. Huggs.

What say you?

