Country Pumpkin

.

It’s finally fall, my very favorite time of year, and I’m getting ready for all the fall goodness. Although I associate it more with Thanksgiving than fall (though I suppose that’s in fall, so . . . ), I just love pumpkin pie. Regular old pumpkin pie, none of the fancy stuff, thank you very much. Guess I’m a bit of a low brow bumpkin in my pumpkin pie tastes, but I just love that Libby’s brand filling (the one with the recipe plastered on the tin):

If I’m feeling adventurous I may add extra cinnamon because I love how it smells when it cooks and how it tastes when I gobble it up. Add a dollop of Cool Whip and it’s pumpkin pie heaven!

Oooh, and other pumpkin-y goodness comes in the form of the very fabulous Yankee candle:

It smells soooo good, and infuses the whole house with cozy fall happiness.

I was sharing my love of the pumpkin with a friend the other day, and she said she has the all time best pumpkin bread recipe. She emailed it to me:

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 cup sugar (i used splenda)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup pumpkin purée*
1/2 cup oil
2 eggs
1/4 cup water
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans)

* To make pumpkin purée, cut a pumpkin in half, scoop out the seeds and
stringy stuff, lie face down on a foil or Silpat lined baking sheet. Bake
at 350°F until soft, about 45 min to an hour. Cool, scoop out the flesh.
Freeze whatever you don’t use for future use. Or, if you are working with
pumpkin pieces, roast or boil them until tender, then remove and discard
the skin.

Method
1 Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C). Sift together the flour, salt, sugar, and
baking soda.

2 Mix the pumpkin, oil, eggs, 1/4 cup of water, and spices together, then
combine with the dry ingredients, but do not mix too thoroughly. Stir in
the nuts.

3 Pour into a well-buttered 9x5x3 inch loaf pan. Bake 50-60 minutes until a
thin skewer poked in the very center of the loaf comes out clean. Turn out
of the pan and let cool on a rack.

Sounds good, huh? Unless you’re me. Splenda? Instead of good old fashioned rot your teeth and make you fat sugar? Gah! And . . . pumpkin puree? Huh? Who’s she kidding? I’m not doing all that scooping of slimy pumpkin innards and dealing with “stringy stuff” (shudder). But I do love pumpkin bread (the kind they have at the bakery), and someone may want to try the recipe, so there it is.

If I do try it, I’ll use sugar and Libby’s pumpkin pie filling; I think I can manage that. I’ll need to get a cooling rack. And a baking pan. But I have an oven, so that’s a start.

And let us not forget the ever fabulous and decadent and truly delicious pumpkin cheesecake! I like the ones at The Cheesecake Factory, but my bakery does a decent one, too (not “my” bakery, the one at the supermarket). Oooh, and pumpkin ice cream is pretty darned good, too.

. . . mmmm . . . . . . .

So that’s my ode to fall and the mighty pumpkin. Oh, and I found a How to Carve a Halloween Pumpkin page that seems crazily complex (at a 45 degree angle and slathering the exposed flesh with petroleum jelly?). I recommend getting about five (four for trial and error testing) pumpkins, cutting a decent sized hole around the top where the stem is (angle so top can be placed on again), scoop out all the crap (I like to get someone else to do this part), then hack away until you have the desired freakish face to scare the neighbors with.

Weeee, tis indeed my very favorite time of year.

12 thoughts on “Country Pumpkin

  1. an even easier way to make pumpkin bread is to go to bob evans and buy some. although that probably works better if you have a bob evans in your area. heh.

    have you ever had a pumpkin spice latte? i’ve seen that a few times around about now, but i’m not a big enough fan of pumpkin pie to want to try it.

  2. Oooh, I totally forgot about pumpkin spice coffees and lattes! I love those; they are so good. And pumpkin chai is wondermous. We don’t have a bob evans, and I’m not sure I know what that is, though I’m assuming it’s some sort of bake shop?

  3. Ok, I looked it up just for YOU, and it turns out the closest one to me is over 200 miles away in PA . . . good enough for a road trip? 🙂

  4. hmmm, i’m not sure i’d travel that far just to go to bob evans, but if you were going to be going that way anyway, i’d say it would be worth dropping in. they do get quite a lot of business from people traveling on the interstate. around here there is a bob evans by most of the major highways.

  5. What a mouthwatering entry, Fuzz. I love love love pumpkin too and this recipe is to die for (a Sri Lankan recipe, if I´m not mistaken):

    WATTAKA

    Ingredients:
    450 g Butter-squash
    25 g Onion
    2 Fresh chillies (these were fresh from the chillies festival plant)
    4 Cloves garlic
    50 ml Oil (ghee is an alternative
    2 ts of curry powder
    Salt Black pepper
    1/4 ts Turmeric
    450 ml Coconut milk
    1 ts Ground mustard (to be honest, I misread and added mustard from the pot)
    1/2 ts Lime juice (that I forgot)
    Method:
    • Peel and de-seed the buttersquash cut the flesh is smallish dices (2cms)
    • Slice the onion and chilli and crush the garlic.
    • Heat the oil (ghee) and fry the curry powder, the onion, the garlic and chilli together. When the onion is soft add the butter-squash, salt, pepper, turmeric and coconut milk, cook until the buttersquash is done.
    • Add mustard to the pumpkin mixture, stirring as it thickens. Bring to the boil and simmer for a few minutes. Remove from heat springle lime juice.
    The original recipe presents the wattaka in the shell, if you want to do so, don’t peel the vegetable, wash it and scoop the flesh out, when the mixture is ready pour it back in the shell to serve.

  6. Double layer pumpkin pie, Laurie? Oooh, that sounds good :))

    Hadn’t thought of that, Heyman, but maybe if the days of yore were still abuzzin’ here on 360 we could do something like that. Maybe all make our pumpkins and then post them as our avatar pics or something? But alas, seems that those days are gone. Oh well, we can still have fun, I say!

    Ooooh, Fanta! Make this and do one of your recipe blogs with all the fab photos and commentary! Then fly me over for a slice (that part’s the best part of my plan, of course).

  7. Oooo, I did NOT know about pumpkin pie icecream! Fuzz, you’re gonna have to come with me to our church’s fall fair in Nov. — yeah, it’s all church fellowshippy and fuzzy-wuzzy and Fall New Englandy and somewhat “church-old-ladyish,” but… they have a “Homemade Cheesecake Sampling.” You choose 3 pies you want to sample and a cup of coffee or hot cider for some ridiculously high fund-raising type price… but the Pumpkin Cheesecake one of the members makes every year is to die for and always sells out quickly! The whole thing gets me in the seasony spirit.

  8. 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
    1/4 teaspoon cloves
    1 teaspoon cinnamon
    1/4 teaspoon allspice

    Just reading that combination smells good :), will definitely test this recipe out. Starbucks has Pumpkin spice Latte and Pumpkin bread, both are great combination to have 🙂

  9. That sounds yummy, Wendy! Let’s do it :))

    And Chris, Starbucks pumpkin spice lattes are sooooo good; I want one right now! I didn’t know they have pumpkin bread, though, I’ll have to check it out.

What say you?

