Epiphanies of a Couch Potato

So I’m flipping through channels last night and ran across a couple of things that made my restless clicky finger stop doing that restless clicky thing. Actually, they did more than that, I don’t know the odds of having not one but two minor epiphanies in one evening, but I hit the trifecta yesterday. Or more appropriately a bifecta (as there were only two).

First off, let me admit right now that I have a lot of trouble understanding “these kids today” and even mutter that phrase under my breath from time to time in middle-aged wonder and sometimes exasperation. Yep, I’ve become that person. I have no idea what kids are saying half the time, and that music! Now, I do know that we had our own slang when I was a kid, but somehow “stoked,” “bunk,” and “big time” made a certain sense that I can’t decipher in “schizzle,” “shawtie,” and “lez bounce.” I have a vague idea about what it means to be a “hater” but only because someone let me know when I used it wrong (for which I was very grateful, nothing quite so sad as an old person trying to be hip . . . and getting it wrong. Is “hip” even hip? Sigh).

So imagine my befuddlement when I hear that something is “sick” (and its full on emphasis seems to be a part of the term itself). Now, sure, I remember when “bad” meant “good.” I assumed “sick” was sort of the same, and I suppose it kind of is, but then during last night’s restless channel flipping, I happened upon a show called America’s Best Dance Crew and thought I’d pause on it a few (it was a repeat, the show’s over already, so I’m late out of the gate. Of course). You know, kind of soak up the current culture, maybe have a laugh. Instead, I caught this performance by Quest Crew:

Now that is sick!

My second epiphany occured when I landed on a show entitled What Really Happened on the Hudson (I tried to find a good link, but couldn’t, sorry). I spend a lot of time bemoaning the selfishness, rudeness, meanness, and general ickiness of people (in general, not specific people, though I do that, too). Stories like the “miracle on the Hudson” naturally give me pause and warm my heart. People doing the extraordinary during disasters and emergencies undermines my ability to think too ill of humans; we do sometimes get it right. It’s just a shame that it takes a tragedy to bring out our better nature. Anyway, this isn’t about that, it’s about the closing line of the show:

Now that vid is 8+ mins, so feel free to scroll to the last few seconds (or if you want, you can catch the whole thing on YouTube, this is the final segment). Or skip it altogether because what the guy said that caught me off-guard and made me think was “I was in a plane crash . . . wow [ok, I’m paraphrasing], and eventually, you’re just like ‘it can’t happen twice’.”

Hmmmmm. So that made me think about something that’s been haunting me since it happened: getting run over. I’ve been very nervous since then in pedestrian vs. car situations (it never turns out well for the pedestrian); hyper-aware of cars when I’m crossing the street (probably a good thing) and when I’m just walking through a parking lot and even on the sidewalk (like a car’s really likely to jump the curb and mow me down). That “it can’t happen twice” thing may well be a good solid stride in the right direction. I mean, really, what are the odds? (hope I’m not tempting fate with that!)

It also made me think of all the shows that made light of the passengers who survived the Titanic and how they were cursed. One episode of The Love Boat I remember had a nice elderly couple on who had survived the sinking, and of course, hijinks ensue. But actually, wouldn’t it be safest to be on a ship (or plane) with people who had already survived a disaster or near-disaster?

6 thoughts on “Epiphanies of a Couch Potato

  1. I’m glad you posted this vid. about the crash in the Hudson, it is so true, near death experiences change your perception of life forever. Your focal point totally shifts. But the memory of it stays with you forever. I wish there was a ~magical memory clip eraser~ to get rid of the moment when these scary things do happen. I still can’t get rid of something that happened almost ten years ago. It is still so fresh and vivid, as if it just happened yesterday. Maybe I need a shrink:)Not sure why the young kids in the first vid (yes, I am having one of those midddle aged women’s syndromes) are always feeling the need to touch their own private parts. What is with that??

  2. Thanks for your great comment, Fanta πŸ™‚ I know just what you mean about something being as fresh and vivid as if it happened yesterday (think we can get a group rate at that shrink? πŸ™‚And there was a girl dance crew on that show that was also doing that crotch grabbing thing, they didn’t do it right up, but sort of over and on the thighish. Not sure where that came from or what it’s supposed to mean (if anything), but it seems to be a big part of some hip hop dance moves. (of course we may have Madonna and Michael Jackson to thank for that, though. hehe)

  3. “Now, I do know that we had our own slang when I was a kid, but somehow “stoked,” “bunk,” and “big time” made a certain sense that I can’t decipher in “schizzle,” “shawtie,” and “lez bounce.”You are not the only one who has problems with the more urban slang; I am a a country girl after all. We do seem to have claimed the word ‘gay’ though in recent years, meaning something naff or sub-standard.

  4. hehe, true, Fabi, I forgot you were sheltered πŸ˜‰ (like I’m not!?)I actually wonder how close to actual urban street slang we get via the media (television shows, even these “reality shows” seem to make a charicature of all sorts of “types,” not just urban youth, and I wonder how “real” it is, though I’m sure parts must be close–as in charicature).

What say you?

