Refudiate Liberalism Now!

Bill Kristol responds deliciously to the crowing on the fringe left about Sarah Palin’s “refudiate” tweet.

The case for linguistic innovation is this: We need a word that captures and conjoins the meanings of refutation and repudiation. And we need it now. To save the country from the ravages of contemporary liberalism, we have to refute liberal arguments and see liberal politicians repudiated at the polls.

So the conservative agenda is, in a word, refudiation. Indeed, given the dramatic moment at which we have arrived, one might say that we now have the prospect of a grand refudiation of liberalism.

This is exactly how you do battle with progressives:  on their own turf.  And better than they do.

Read the rest.

 .
.
.

Cross-posted at Potluck.

26 thoughts on “Refudiate Liberalism Now!

  1. No society is ever free of those who wish to eat other men's bread. The story of the Little Red Hen remains the classic tale that illustrates my point. The progressive movement, the obama administration/regime and their (often correct) notion that they can bribe voters with their own tax dollars requires a response.

    “Refundiate” seems to be a good one.

  2. @ LL, “refundiate” made me laugh! heee!

    @ Trestin, you wish is my command. That guy's a poster child of the koolaid crowd–has no idea what he's talking about and is just parroting what he's heard/read/seen from the leftist loons who spin those lies. Sad, really, but yeah, fun to play with. 🙂

  3. Well I've got one thing in common with Sarah Palin. I have a habit of subconsciously inventing new words …. and remain convinced they are real long after I get a dictionary shoved under my nose. Refudiate is a great word …. must try and get it into a blog post.

    @Trestin – Oh well I'm not the only one irritating conservatives then. (Actually I don't set out to irritate …. just seems to be a side effect ;o) )

  4. Cambridge, you're fairly harmless, and you don't vote, so I don't get all bent out of shape about you, lol.

    Fuzzy, We need to refudiate the libs and defundiate their so-called laws. That will be a good start.

  5. The champion of the Left is a tongue-tied teleprompter addicted clown who can't be trusted to speak off-script without shooting himself in the foot.

    But yeah, Sarah Palin is an idiot because she jumbled a word one time.

    Please don't tell me this is the best the liberals can do.

  6. Palin is truly a brilliant visionary! She created a word to completely alter the language of the debate. If Biden had done this, his picture would have been printed on the front of every dictionary! 😀

  7. I'm looking forward to some Reconserveration in November.

    And I still think we should make Kagan and Sotomayor's names into household punch lines.

    Like Don't be such a Kagan ! Yea, I know it's juvenile. I don't care.

  8. Hi Fuzzy, great post. I'm sick of the double standard of the left.
    Obummer can't walk, talk and chew gum without a teleprompter, and Sarah says ONE WORD different, and they are all over her.
    I love how Bill Kristol takes their nonsense and uses it against them.

  9. Fuzzy,

    I wish to also say nice find!

    Mr. Kristol is a marvelous master of the English language and I sure am glad he is on our side!

    Lock & Load!!!

    Sons & Daughters of Liberty Unite!!!

  10. @Fuzzy- He was fun for a while, but it became old after two days. One thing I have learned: Don't argue with The Kid!

    @Cambridge Lady- What makes you different is you are sincere. While I may not agree with most of your environmental ideas, you actually try to practice what you preach. Most of the eco-fascists want me to change my life while they are ten times worse.

  11. @CL, I invent new words all the time; it's fun 🙂 And Opus and Trestin are right–you're different than most lefties we run into. Besides, you're a sweetheart.

    @ Opus, LOL, that we do.

    @ kingshamus, yeah, where was all the ridicule and hilarity when the Idiot in Chief couldn't pronounce the word “corps” correctly, not once but three times?! Hmph.

    @ Odie, heh, me, too. I think. 😉

    @ Kid, reconservation is awesome. And yes, me, too. No one in my household would be such a Kagan, heh.

    @ Bunni Toes, me, too, me, too. It's really sickening.

    @ L, thanks so much! Kristol is pretty impressive, I think 🙂

    @ LL, we can hope. 🙂

    @ CC, thanks 🙂

    @ Trestin, yeah, I got bored with him quickly, he didn't even try. At least some of them put some effort into hiding their ignorance.

  12. Oddly enough, semantics and word play is everything to Leftists. In this case Bill Kristol did a fine job of thwarting a “word-play assault” on Sarah Palin.

    While it's a fair refutation, it's certainly not going to keep the Left from embracing emotionalism in all this….it's pretty much their entire act.

  13. Fuzzy, where you at?! Hey, put up a picture of something to let us know you're ok. If you're ok, put up a picture of a strange man wearing a dark hat. If you're not doing ok, put up a slightly chubbier man wearing a similar suit, but one with a carnation. If you're doing a little ok, but not great, the carnation should be green, and it can be either man, but he should be wearing a top hat. If none of the above, do not post any pictures.

    Seriously, hope you are doing well.

What say you?

